FARINGDON AREA TRAFFIC ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Terms of Reference

Constitution

Oxfordshire County Council has approved the formation of Traffic Advisory Committees inurban areas where more detailed consideration should be given to proposals and a widerrange of comments sought.

The Constitution of the Committee will generally be as follows:-

Town Council 2 Members and 1 Substitute
County Council 2 Members and 1 Substitute
District Council 2 Members and 1 Substitute
2 Members and 1 Substitute

Magistrates Court 1 Member

(Three members from the above shall constitute a quorum. Members online will form part of the quorum)

Representatives (non-voting members) are:-

OCC Highways 1 Officer
Thames Valley Police 1 Officer
Oxfordshire Fire & Rescue Service 1 Officer
Stagecoach representative 1 Officer

(Written reports or substitutes representing these organisations will be required when theusual officer cannot attend).

The Chairmen of local Parish Councils will be informed by their relevant County Councillor of the dates of future meetings and can be invited to attend in order to speak on issues relevant to their parish but not to vote.

The area covered by the Committee is shown in Appendix 1.

Chair and Vice-Chair of the Committee

The Chair and Vice Chair shall be chosen from the members forming the quorum. The selection shall be open to all those members and rotational. The Chair and Vice-Chair shall be elected on an annual basis, with a maximum term of office of 2 years.

Meetings

Meetings shall be held 4 times per year (March, June, September and December) The AGM will be held in June.

Meeting dates and time to be agreed annually at the AGM

Minutes of Meetings

Administration of the Committee will be undertaken by the Clerk (or an Assistant Clerk) to the Town Council.

FATAC Constitution Adopted: 9 September 2024

Public Access

Members of the public have the right to address the Committee for not more than five minutes, provided the statement is related to an item on the agenda or is within the jurisdiction of the Committee. Requests to address a meeting shall be submitted in writing tothe Clerk to the Committee before 12.30pm on the last working day preceding the meeting, and any such request shall be passed to the Chair or Vice Chair, or to the Chair on the day of the meeting with the Committee's approval.

Responsibilities

The following is a list of those items which may be raised for discussion:-

- (a) Traffic management matters in relation to existing road systems, eg One-Way systems, weight restrictions, prohibition of turns;
- (b) Traffic signs and road markings;
- (c) Mini-roundabouts;
- (d) Traffic signals;
- (e) Pedestrian crossings;
- (f) Footpaths;
- (g) Condition of both roads and footpaths;
- (h) Street lighting;
- (i) School safety
- (j) Car parking (on and off street);
- (k) Road safety engineering;
- (I) Traffic calming;
- (m) Rural traffic matters.

Other items may be raised but where these are not the direct responsibility of the Committee, a note will be made and passed to the appropriate section.

APPENDIX 1

PARISH AREAS COVERED BY THE FARINGDON AREA TRAFFIC ADVISORY COMMITTEE

County Division (Kingston & Cumnor)

Appleton & Eaton, Besselsleigh, Charney Bassett, Cumnor, Denchworth, East Hanney, Frilford, Fyfield & Tubney, Garford, Goosey, Hatford, Hinton Waldrist, Kingston Bagpuize & Southmoor, Longworth, Lyford, Pusey, Shellingford, Stanford-in-the-Vale and West Hanney

County Division (Faringdon)

Coleshill, Buscot, Eaton Hastings, Faringdon, Lt. Coxwell, Gt. Coxwell, Littleworth, Bucklandand Gainfield

County Division (Shrivenham)

Ashbury; Baulking; Bourton (Shrivenham); Childrey; Compton Beauchamp; East Challow: North Parish Ward; East Challow: South East Parish Ward; Fernham; Kingston Lisle; Letcombe Bassett; Letcombe Regis; Longcot; Shrivenham; Sparshot; Uffington; Watchfield; West Challow; Woolstone